top of page

Favourite finds: Lockdown Edition

Obviously opportunities to eat out in lockdown have been limited, and it’s been sad to check the websites and facebook pages of some of my favourite independent places as they announce that they’re having to close, but lots of cafes and restaurants have adapted a little and are staying open for takeaway. It’s not quite the same, and you don’t get to feel the atmosphere of the place, but I definitely can judge the food!


Soy

A vegan and vegetarian Vietnamese restaurant in Schwabing/Maxvorstadt, but the concept very much appealed, and was also something a bit new. My coconut-veggie stew with uudon noodles was fresh, light and filling, and the spring roll with peanut dipping sauce which comes with the lunch menu was super tasty. All round yummy!


Erbils

This vegan cafe didn’t seem to have had to adapt much for lockdown, already offering all kinds of sandwiches, wraps, salads and some hot dishes, from a little salad counter decked out with an eye-catching selection of antipasti. Somewhere between an alternative vegan kebab shop and a mediterranean deli, the range of choice certainly didn’t disappoint, and the prices weren’t bad either. Not an ideal location from where I live, but convenient to run to and collect something tasty for the way back, I just had to go back for more after the first time I tried (literally the next day!). I didn’t get round to the cakes, but a seitan lahmacun and an antipasti teller both proved tasty, fresh, and satisfying. With more places like this, I don’t think anyone would struggle to go vegan!

Iss Dich Glücklich

I could tell from the insta that this place was going to be good, and it’s probably one of the ones that I’m more disappointed about not being able to sit in at. More of a brunch place, they’re currently offering a reduced selection of smoothies, juices, and bowls, alongside some cakes and sweet and savoury bagels - all vegan! With aesthetic presentation even in a to-go container, and super friendly service, the whole vibe of the place left me smiling.

Dr Drooly

Another vegan find, this time for pizzas. Service wasn’t the speediest, but I think they were overwhelmed because of lockdown, and while I’m not sure it was worth the hour and a half wait, the pizzas were very impressive in the end. Their menu has a lot of choice, and for vegans missing things like bacon and sausage, they have some creative alternatives. A big win was the cheese - not noticeablely runnier or less chewy than a normal pizza, you definitely could fool someone into not thinking they were vegan.

Cafe Ignaz (revisited + cake)

This adorable little restaurant and bakery in the heart of Schwabing, run by this one guy and his daughter, has already featured on a favourite finds in the summer, when Tom and I enjoyed the pavement terrace and inventive veggie dishes. It’s been very much rediscovered in lockdown, with the even better addition of vegan cakes, a slice of which you can add to any main dish for an extra 2€, and, given the portion size, it’s a no brainer. I’ve revisited a few times since lockdown; everything on the main menu is vegetarian, and about half of the dishes are vegan, and I literally want to try them all. From tortellini to gnocchi, to curry and potato dishes, the menu is small but incredibly varied. The dishes are creative with combinations and high-quality on ingredients, freshly prepared and just taste divine. There’s a whole cabinet of vegan cakes, and after my first visit I was already planning to come again to try all the others. I just can’t get enough, and a final visit is definitely in store for my last week here.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page