top of page

Week 23 + 24: Goodbye to Germany

Days since last round up: 33


Miles from Munich: 920

Major achievements: surviving 24 weeks abroad (during a global pandemic)


Reading: A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khalid Hosseini


Weather: Snow! In Manchester!


Estimated percentage fluency: I tried to recall a German conversation the other day and let’s just say I was there for some time ... it’s very strange how immersion not just teaches you things over time, but makes you much more confident using your languages in your immediate surroundings. Talking German at (my English) home still doesn’t feel natural, and never will, but it does make assessing progress quite difficult. I definitely don’t feel like I’m magically ‘fluent’ but I know that if I went to Germany now I’d slip back into it easily and it would all come flooding back. We’ll have to see what happens when I go back next summer ...


It’s been a while since I wrote, and as you can probably tell from my little digression on linguistic progress, Germany has been quite far from my mind. In the final week especially I couldn’t stop thinking about home, and finally flying back really did bring a sense of relief. The final month in Germany, and especially those last two weeks, were difficult for me, not because of anything specific that happened, but more exactly because nothing happened! With lockdown measures tightened even further, and Christmas shopping finished, there really was very little to get up to, and so I didn’t feel like I was on my year abroad any more. I was still speaking plenty of German, and feeling blessed that I was still having that experience, but without all the exciting extras and cultural stuff to soak up, my little room in the apartment had started to feel far far away from home. A few weeks in England with family has given me some distance and perspective, so it’s just about the right time for a bit of reflection on my time in Germany more generally. So here’s what I liked, and didn’t like so much.

Quick round up of final two weeks:


December was generally very relaxed, with lockdown making things less busy, alongside a general sense of winding down for Christmas. It’s obviously a magical time for the children, especially as the younger girl’s birthday was two days before Nikolaustag, a German tradition on 6th December when children are visited by a Father-Christmas-like figure who leaves gifts in their boots overnight. Nikolous was still allowed to do house visits, so I got to watch the whole routine of finding out what they’ve done right and what they promise to do for next year. Quite interesting from an au pair’s perspective actually! Festive meals out weren’t really possible, but I got some amazing takeaway food from Cafe Flower in Maxvorstadt, and on my final weekend had a cake-date with some Oxford friends, featuring a Christmassy cake bundle from a vegan cafe in the centre, so some festivities continued despite looming COVID and Brext-related stress.

Quick-fire round up of the whole trip:

Specific highlights

  • Trip to Neuschwanstein castle

  • First beer at Andechs brewery

  • Midnightbazar flea market

  • Aperols on Gärtnerplatz at Sankt Anna’s in July


What went well

  • Exploring Munich and getting to know the city

  • All the trips beyond Munich and even outside of Bavaria, discovering pretty historical towns and sampling the Bavarian hiking culture

  • Lots of amazing food

  • No problems with mutual intelligibility with the kids (linguistically at least)

  • Huge confidence increase in everyday encounters in German

  • So many books read


Things I wish I’d done more of or didn’t get round to

  • More hikes, a bit further afield, maybe even the alps


Unexpected challenges

  • Compatability with the family

  • COVID

  • Getting parcels delivered


Unexpected positives

  • Friendships with other English students - being in a foreign city together brings you so much closer

  • Munich as a city (I didn’t choose family based on location, and was pleasantly surprised by how pretty Munich is and its vibes as a city)


Difficult parts of the au pair experience

  • The ups and downs of childcare

  • The unpredicatability of young children’s moods

  • Not living in my own space, never quite feeling like my room was quite my home

  • Living on someone else’s timetable, having to fit my life, needs and preferences into the family’s


Reasons I’m glad I au-paired

  • No accommodation stress

  • I was able to stay abroad for my planned 5 1/2 months because my work wasn’t impacted by 2nd lockdown

  • A helping hand with German bureaucracy

  • A varied experience e.g. holiday to Bodensee

  • Free time during day to read and explore

  • (Potentially) lasting connection with a German family

  • Exposure to everyday German and the opportunity to ask for help on bits of vocab


For those interested, current plans are to head to Paris in just less than a week, again staying with a family as an au pair, but this time in an independent studio. I’ll also be studying at the Sorbonne. There are a few logistical and bureaucratic challenges ahead, but watch this space for updates, and I’ll see you on the other side!


78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page